* Indicates a required field


The Norman Mailer Center & The Norman Mailer Writer's Colony

2009 Annual Benefit Gala

The First Annual Norman Mailer Center Benefit Gala took place on Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. Tina Brown and David Remnick served as Co-Chairs for the evening. Calvin “Bud” Trillin served as the Master of Ceremonies.  

2009 Annual Benefit Gala

Tuesday, October 13, 2020· 7:00 PM
42nd Street
New York, New York

Toni Morrison Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement Presented by David Remnick
David Halberstam Mailer Prize for Distinguished Journalism Presented by Gay Talese

Our honorees were:

  • Toni Morrison, recipient of the Mailer Prize for Lifetime Achievement (presented by David Remnick)
  • David Halberstam (1934-2007), recipient of the Mailer Prize for Distinguished Journalism (presented by Gay Talese to his wife, xxxx Halberstam)

The winners of the Mailer National Student Writing Awards, presented in partnership with the National Council of Teachers of English, were:

  • National High School Award: Emily Swanagin, Luna
  • National College Award: John Gilmore, Final Cascade

The evening’s sponsors included: Anthony Sages, AXA Advisors, Barnes & Noble Booksellers, Benedikt Taschen, TASCHEN, Bob Johnson, Carlo Tunioli, President, Benetton US, Hachette Book Group, Harry Ransom Center, HBO, Jean Stein, Pamela & Sam Radin, Random House Publishing Group, Susan Mailer & Marco Colodro, and The Diller-von Furstenberg Family Foundation